The UDC library has many tools that faculty can use while classes are online. These resources are always available to you, but we want to share those that might be of particular value during academic continuity.
The library at Van Ness will remain OPEN during this time. From March 16 through March 31, our hours will be Monday to Friday from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.
Online (chat, video, screen sharing) and email reference
Off-campus access to all UDC databases and e-books (You will be required to login with UDC credentials)
Librarian created and curated guides with recommended resources, tools, and research methods
May be used for reference or as additional reading material
Video/Media Resources available through UDC (available on A-Z Resource List)
C-SPAN Video: The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
NBC Learn Higher Ed: Streaming video and more. Aligned to 40 Higher Ed content collections - topics range from Biology, Chemistry, Physics, U.S. History, Global Studies, Health & Nursing, Psychology, Business, Marketing, Journalism, Sociology, and more.
PrepSTEP: Online learning platform that provides a comprehensive selection of academic and career-related resources. Includes these targeted learning centers: college success skills, core math and science skills review, core English skills review, career and workplace preparation, placement test preparation, ACT and SAT preparation, high school equivalency center, basic computer skills, and Spanish center. Features academic skill-building, college placement test preparation, college and life skills tutorials, soft skills training, career advancement resources, professional licensing and certification test prep, basic computer skills training, and more.
UDC Library YouTube: Videos offer basic library and research skill information.
Video/Media resources Available through DC Public Library
NOTE: Requires DC Public Library card - students can get a temporary digital card but it does not work on all services
Access Video on Demand
Kanopy
Lynda
OER and/or Other Free Online Resources
Library Instruction
Asynchronous: Librarians can provide tailored library instruction PowerPoint slides (with notes).
Synchronous: Librarians can provide library instruction via ZOOM or another online platform. You can schedule a class online here. (Two weeks notice for all synchronous classes is required to allow for scheduling and development.)
Scanning Services
The library will also be able to provide scans of material (such as our textbooks on reserve) at your request. Just call or email us with the following information: title, author, and pages needed. It can also help us if you are able to share the edition or publication information.
We will attempt to email scans to you within one-business-day but turnaround time will depend on the demand.
If you require resources or teaching services not listed above, please email us at ask@udc.libanswers.com. We are here to support you and your students now and throughout the year.
In addition to these resources, the Center for the Advancement of Learning (CAL) has a comprehensive page with online teaching resources and information.
Learn more about what resources and tools are available to faculty in our Faculty Resources libguide.
0 Comments.