This semester, we are holding an LRD Faculty Webinar Series on library databases. The webinars will include information available in the databases along with search techniques and tips.
The webinars will be recorded but Certificates of Attendance will be sent to those who attend the live event.
Introduction to Library Databases – Thursday, February 11 – 1PM
Offering abroad overview of UDC Search and all the databases available at the library. Includes search techniques, tips, and tricks.
Databases for Everyone – Thursday, February 18 – 1PM
An introduction to and walkthrough of popular, multi-subject databases including Credo Reference, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Access World News, Foundation Center, and PrepStep.
JoVE Databases – Monday, February 22 – NOON
The JoVE databases provide material for biology and chemistry covering laboratory fundamentals, techniques, and concepts.
IEEE – Thursday, February 25 – 11AM
The session will cover the IEEE database which includes IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
ABI/Inform Complete – Monday, March 1 – 1PM
ABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
PrepStep – Tuesday, March 2 – 1PM
PrepStep is an online learning platform that provides comprehensive selection of academic and career-related resources. Includes these targeted learning centers: college success skills, core math and science skills review, core English skills review, career and workplace preparation, placement test preparation, ACT and SAT preparation, high school equivalency center, basic computer skills, and Spanish center. Features academic skill building, college placement test preparation, college and life skills tutorials, soft skills training, career advancement resources, professional licensing and certification test prep, basic computer skills training, and more.
Drama Online – Thursday, March 11 – 10AM
NEW ACQUISTION: This award-winning digital library is the only resource to combine exclusively available play text content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
ASCE Research Database – Thursday, March 18 – 11AM
The Research Library provides access to more than 73,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year.
Social Explorer – Tuesday, March 23 – NOON
Social Explorer is an online demographic research tool. It provides hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States. In addition to being a premier research tool, it is an ideal teaching resource thanks to its engaging visual approach to demographic information.
CINAHL and Science Full Text Select - Tuesday, April 13 - 2PM
CINAHL is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature and it includes thousands of full-text articles. Science Full Text Select covers a vast area of the sciences including Aeronautics, Atmospheric Sciences, Chemistry, Communication & Info Technology, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Horticulture, Immunology, Nutrition, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Weed Sciences, and many more.
Business Source Elite – Tuesday, March 30 - 1PM
This database provides full text of business, management and economics journal literature, plus rich non-journal materials such as financial reports, etc. From 1985 to present.
Associates Program Source Plus – Wednesday, April 28 - 2PM
More than 2,200 full-text journal titles and more than 360 full-text books including coverage in the following areas which align with UDC CC programs: business, aerospace sciences, general technology, construction and building, industrial technology, accounting, computer science, education, fashion, visual arts, hospitality industry, law enforcement, health, medicine, and many more.
To register for any or all of the session, fill out this form. Registrants will receive log-in links and reminders for each session they select.
If you have any questions, please contact Meghan Kowalski, Outreach and Reference Librarian, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Return to LRD homepage