Learning Resources Division: Hospitality Management and Tourism: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

HB - Economic Theory, Demography

HC - Economic History and Conditions

HF - Commerce

TX - Home Economics

TX 851-885 - Dining-room service

TX 901-946.5 - Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service

TX 950-953 - Taverns, barrooms, saloons

TX 955-985 - Building operation and housekeeping

Recommended Books

Achieving Success Through Innovation: Cases and Insights from the Hospitality, Travel, and Tourism Industry by Glenn Withiam (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-09-11
This book investigates the genesis and success of innovation in the hospitality industry as detailed in over four dozen case studies. The cases include innovations for improved customer service, stronger human resources, and new food service and lodging concepts. While updated technology forms the basis for many of the innovations, some of the cases focus specifically on technology improvements, with a particular focus on the use of technology as a mediator in the service value chain. With the passage of several years, the book shares the outcome of the innovative concepts--most of which continue to operate. The lesson present a valuable perspective on success through innovation.
Creative Tourism in Smaller Communities: Place, Culture, and Local Representation by Scherf, Kathleen Dorothy, 1960- editor, writer of introduction.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2021
This book examines the processes, policies, and methodologies of creative tourism, paying special attention to the ways creative and place-based tourism can aid sustainable cultural development. With topics ranging from placemaking through food to the cultural impacts of cruise travel, and from catalyzing creative tourism to creating resiliency, this collection offers a wide range of theoretical and practical perspectives from a variety of experts.
Economics of Sustainable Tourism by Fabio Cerina (Editor); Anil Markandya (Editor); Michael McAleer (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2010-10-04
At the same time, it has many negative outsourced effects on the environment and local culture. Achieving a more sustainable pattern of tourism development is high on the global agenda aiming to meet human needs while preserving the environment now and for the future. This book aims to critically explore how tourism economic development can move closer to a sustainable ideal from a firm economic analytic anchor. Grounded in economic theory and application it analyzes tourist's satisfaction and impacts of tourism on the host community, investigates the productivity of the industry and identify factors which could increase economic and sustainable development such as trade relationships. It offers further insight into how destinations sustainability can be measured, economic benefits of a more sustainable destination and sets the agenda for future research.
The Good Company: Sustainability in Hospitality, Tourism and Wine by Robert Girling; Heather Gordy; Pamela Lanier
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-08-28
This book tells the stories of over 30 inspiring companies around the world that are among the ethical leaders in the industry. The book begins with a discussion of the principles of sustainable tourism and the strategies that underlie enterprises that follow these principles, considering the economic effects, environmental and ecological impacts, as well as social and cultural contributions that companies may make.
The Handbook of Managing and Marketing Tourism Experiences by Marios Sotiriadis (Volume Editor); Dogan Gursoy (Volume Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
The planning, design, management and marketing of experiences for tourism markets is a major challenge for tourism destinations and providers in a globalized and highly competitive market. It seeks to analyze the main issues and challenges related to tourism experience management and marketing, present and discuss adequate analytical frameworks and tools, explore the adoption and implementation of approaches to managing and marketing experiences in various tourism contexts and industries, and present and discuss case studies illustrating approaches adopted, methods implemented and best practices in addressing related issues. The book concludes by providing strategic management and marketing implications and recommendations for tourism businesses and destinations to enable them to successfully create, manage, market and evaluate tourism experiences.
Hospitality Management: A Brief Introduction by Roy C. Wood (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-05-07
This book is designed for undergraduate and postgraduate students studying hotel and hospitality management and hospitality studies. It includes coverage of the principal areas of functional management in hospitality, including: employee relations, accommodation management, food and beverage management, marketing and sales, industry structure and strategy, the nature of management roles, hospitality management education, and future trends in the field. Roy Wood uses a wide range of established and contemporary research and reflects critically on its subject, including from the perspective of the hospitality consumer, to ensure that readers gain wide awareness of the realities and challenges of the hospitality industry.
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management 2nd Edition by Abraham Pizam (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-06-25
This text is a definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management). Its unique, user-friendly structure enables readers to find exactly the information they require at a glance - whether they require broad details that takes a more cross-sectional view across each subject field or more focused information that looks closely at specific topics and issues within the hospitality industry today.
Introduction to Hospitality by John R. Walker
Call Number: TX911.3.M27 W3515 2010
ISBN: 9780136069461
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This edition of a best-selling text for courses in hospitality is fully updated and streamlined. Each chapter includes an increased emphasis on globalization and environmental responsibility, and a new chapter on Events Marketing appears in Part V. The practicality of previous editions continues with mini-case studies, contributions from industry experts, profiles of corporations, profiles of hospitality professionals and resources to support readers' coursework and their careers.
A Profile of the Hospitality Industry by Betsy Bender Stringam; Charles G. Partlow
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-11-20
This book provides an inside look to the strategies of this industry. It reviews the developments, challenges, and opportunities for the hotel, restaurant, foodservice and gaming industries. The hospitality industry is unique in many aspects which makes this book a must read for hospitality students, business students and those interested in management strategy.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Hospitality Management and Tourism

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120