Latinx Studies

The Afro-Latin American Research Institute at Harvard University is the first research institution in the United States devoted to the history and culture of peoples of African descent in Latin America and the Caribbean.

CENTRO, The Center for Puerto Rican Studies at Hunter College, is the largest university-based research institute, library, and archive dedicated to the Puerto Rican experience in the United States.

A group of researchers, educators, students, archivists and technologists dedicated to preserving imperiled Chicanx and Latinx histories of the long Civil Rights Era. CPMR has traveled to over one dozen states to collect hundreds of hours of oral histories with notable Chicanas, Latinas, and allies. The project has also scanned personal archives for preservation and access. The overarching objective of the project is to provide broad‐based public access to oral histories, material culture, correspondence, and rare out‐of‐print publications for use in both scholarly research and the classroom.

This collection contains retrodigitized cultural magazines from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Peru and Puerto Rico dating back to the period between 1880 and 1930.

The holdings of the Archives comprise 75 collections with approximately 1,235 cubic feet of archival materials relating to the experience and contributions of the Dominican population in the United States.

dLOC is a cooperative of Partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

First Blacks in the Americas is a fully bilingual (English and Spanish) digital educational platform devoted to disseminating sound historical information about the early presence of people of Black African ancestry in the first colonial society of the Americas of modern times, the society of the colony named La Española (‘The Spanish One’) by the Spanish colonizers when they arrived in 1492 and throughout the sixteenth-century. This is the same society that, over a process of roughly three hundred and fifty years of settlement and creolization, would evolve into the Dominican ethnicity and Dominican nation, and which we know today as the Dominican people and the Dominican Republic, respectively.

A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the University Library Special Collections and Archives. Funded as part of the Hispanics-Serving Institutions Grant of the State of California, these materials capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor and immigration as important parts of the historical fabric of this community.

Whatever their individual backgrounds before they came to serve their country, the Hispanics in these collections all found opportunities without impediments by donning the uniforms of the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Marines. Some, like Joseph Medina, came from a family with a rich military background; others, like Eva Jacques or Raymond Ayon, were students enticed with the notion that their country needed them. None expressed that even a hint of prejudice marked their experiences, a remarkable testimony to the democratic ideal of military service.

Collected digital materials relating to latinx studies housed in the Library of Congress.

New Mexico Digital Collections is the central search portal for digital collections about New Mexico. A service of the University of New Mexico Libraries, the collection provides access to digitized photographs, manuscripts, posters, oral histories, videos, maps, and books from libraries, museums, and cultural centers across the state.

For many years CLR has conducted oral histories in the Chicago urban community. Completed projects include the voices of activists of the Young Lords Organization, and interviews conducted by Mirta Ramirez.

The Dartmouth Latino Oral History Project (DLOHP) is the outcome of oral histories produced for an undergraduate Latin American, Latino and Caribbean Course entitled “Crossing Over: Latino Migrant Roots and Transitions” taught by Prof. Lourdes Gutiérrez Nájera (Anthropology; Latino Studies). This course focuses on the experiences of Latino—Mexican, Salvadoran, Cuban, Dominican, Puerto Rican, and Guatemalan—transnational migrants living in the U.S. The literature draws from anthropology and its neighboring disciplines in an attempt to understand the social, political, and economic processes that shape the varied experiences of Latino migrants. In so doing we discuss issues of race, class, ethnicity and gender, raised by recent immigration through a comparative, integrative, global-historical perspective.

Members of the Dominican Studies Association (DSA) collaborate with the CONEXIÓN Dominican Republic proposal for the 17th La Biennale di Venezia 2021 and answer the question “How will we live together?” (¿Cómo viviremos juntos?), the question raised by the Biennial’s curator.
As immigrants or first/second generation Dominicans in the United States, DSA Board Members engage in a dialogue about inclusion/exclusion in spaces on the island or their host/home country. Board members reflect on their personal and professional experiences, where they discuss inclusive spaces and how these might be expanded.

These interviews offer scholars and students “first person” narratives of American culture and society. More than 100 interviews have been recorded with Latino leaders, writers, poets, artists, scholars, and Notre Dame Alumni, with a particular emphasis on the Midwestern United States.

The project aims to document the histories of New Jersey’s diverse Latino/a communities by identifying archival materials and conducting oral histories with local residents.

This is a digital archive that contains the oral histories of Latin American migrants in North Carolina and the experiences of North Carolinians that have worked for the integration of new settlers into this southern state. Latino migrants have put down new roots in the United States South and opened up a distinct chapter in the long history of Latin American migration to the United States.

The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.

Voces Oral History Center is the leading Latino oral history archive in the United States. It began in 1999, with a mission of capturing untold stories of Latinos and Latinas who served, in the military or on the home front, during World War II. The archive has expanded to include the Korean and Vietnam Wars, and Political and Civic Engagement, focusing on the continuing fight for Latino civil rights.