Skip to main content

Library Orientation: Finding Articles

An easy access point to the LRD library resources.

Scholarly Materials

All of the article databases help you find "scholarly" materials. (See the link below for more information.) For college-level work you MUST use materials that are considered scholarly. The library helps you do this by giving you access to the databases your professors and instructors want you to use.

Sources for Newspaper Articles

Newspaper reports via interviews, surveys, speeches, etc. can provide the latest information on what people are thinking about your topic. Reading different newspapers may provide different perspectives for you to consider in your research.

Newspaper Resources - Other Libraries

The UDC Library's collection of online historical newspapers is rather limited. These other libraries will provide you access to other newspaper collections:

Article Databases

It is not possible to find in the library catalog all individual articles available to you. To do so you need to use an article database. This is what you should know about how databases are organized and accessed:

  • The library buys many different article databases for you to use — to retrieve pertinent results you need to pick an appropriate database to search.
  • Article databases are organized around a particular subject area (i.e., Nursing, Art and Architecture, Sociology, etc) or are organized around an academic area (e.g., Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences).
  • Some of the databases provide full-text access to all of the articles indexed in the database and some provide a mix of citation and abstract information and full-text.
  • Almost all of our article databases are proprietary. This means only students, faculty and staff of UDC can use them.

All of the article databases can be used off-campus — all you need is your registered UDC ONEcard and access to the internet.

Finding Article Databases (also found on the library's home page):

Video Tutorials

Finding Databases

 

Searching and Narrowing in the Databases

 

Accessing Articles in the Databases

Some Useful Databases

This is a short list of article databases that are particularly useful for undergraduates.

Subject Guide

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a great tool, if it is used as one of many resources, not as a primary resource. Because it is such a huge database of materials, many of them out of print or in restricted collections, it can be the place to find unique and useful research material.

  • Use the advanced search features to create a search that will retrieve pertinent results (click on the arrow at the right of the search box).  You want to have a decent number of results, but what's the point of sifting through thousands of entries that have nothing to do with your research?  See Google Scholar's Search Tips.
  • It is possible to find citations for various types of materials in Google Scholar and not be able to access the full-text materials through Google. If you come across this issue, you can search the WRLC catalog to see if a Consortium library holds the item. If the item is not held by a Consortium library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
  • If you have problems using Google Scholar or accessing the materials you find there, come to the reference desk for help or send me an email.
  • Google Books and Google Scholar are not cross-referenced. What this means is that you may find things are in Google Books that are not in Google Scholar, and vice versa.  To do comprehensive searches, you will need search in both.