Skip to main content

American Civil War, 1861-1865: Home

Resources on the American Civil War


The American Civil War (1861–1865), also known as the "War Between the States", refers to the conflict between the US Federal government and  eleven Southern slave states that seceded (withdrew) from the United States to form the Confederate States of America ("the Confederacy"). Led by its president, Jefferson Davis, the Confederacy fought to be independent from the United States and retain slavery. The U.S. federal government, led by President Abraham Lincoln, was supported by twenty mostly-Northern free states where slavery had already been made illegal, and by five slave states ("the border states"). These twenty-five states, referred to as the "Union", had a much larger population and much more industry than the South. After four years of bloody, devastating war (mostly in the South), the Confederacy surrendered and slavery was abolished throughout the reunited nation. With the union's victory, the United States was restored. The postwar period, known as the "Reconstruction era", lasted from 1865 through 1877.

We Can Help!

question mark icon

We're here for YOU!

Remember, you can always contact us with questions.


Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 39, Level B
Schedule an Appointment

Electronic Resources

Recommended Books

Subject Guide

Christopher Anglim's picture
Christopher Anglim
Building 39, Room B019
Van Ness Campus