Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: Accreditation

Library resources for academic teaching and research support.

Contact Us

In addition to instruction and scholarship support, the library and it's staff are available to help faculty complete other projects related to their work. Depending on the nature of the project, the library can can help by providing information, serving on committees, or conducting outreach. 

If you have any questions about how the library can help, please contact one of our staff directly or via email at ask@udc.libanswers.com

Accreditation

Librarians can assist with and provide information for self-studies and accreditation visits. Information we can provide includes but is not limited to:

  • Resources Lists
    • Quantity of Resources
    • Formats of Resources
    • Quality of Resources
    • Depth of Subject Material
  • Library Space
    • Number of "Spots" Available
    • Technology Available
    • Usage Statistics
  • Library Faculty and Staff
    • Number and Types of Employees
    • Professional Skills
    • Areas of Expertise
  • Instruction
    • Statistics of Instruction Sessions
    • Available Instruction Options
    • Assessment of Teaching
  • Reference
    • Styles of Reference Assistance Offered
    • Statistics of Reference Transactions
    • Examples of Reference Transactions
  • Outreach
    • Activities (Including Guides, Exhibits, Events, etc.)

Collection Assessment

The purpose of collection assessment is to ensure that the library is meeting the current needs of the UDC community. Collection assessment is done on a continual or as-needed basis. Review of the collection considers the following information:

  • Number of Items Available
  • Format of Items Available
  • Accessibility of Items Available
  • Breadth and Depth of Information Covered
  • Currency of Information Covered
  • Usage of Available Items

Collection assessment can be done by subject or over the entire library collection. Assessment can result in the library purchasing new material relocating material to off-site storage, or weeding material from the collection.