Skip to main content

UDC History: Finding Articles

Resources relating to UDC's History

Scholarly Materials

All of the article databases help you find "scholarly" materials. (See the link below for more information.) For college-level work you MUST use materials that are considered scholarly. The library helps you do this by giving you access to the databases your professors and instructors want you to use.

Sources for Newspaper Articles

Newspaper reports via interviews, surveys, speeches, etc. can provide the latest information on what people are thinking about your topic. Reading different newspapers may provide different perspectives for you to consider in your research.

Article Databases

It is not possible to find in the library catalog all individual articles available to you. To do so you need to use an article database. This is what you should know about how databases are organized and accessed:

  • The library buys many different article databases for you to use — to retrieve pertinent results you need to pick an appropriate database to search.
  • Article databases are organized around a particular subject area (i.e., Nursing, Art and Architecture, Sociology, etc) or are organized around an academic area (e.g., Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences).
  • Some of the databases provide full-text access to all of the articles indexed in the database and some provide a mix of citation and abstract information and full-text.
  • Almost all of our article databases are proprietary. This means only students, faculty and staff of UDC can use them.

All of the article databases can be used off-campus — all you need is your registered UDC ONEcard and access to the internet.

Finding Article Databases (also found on the library's home page):

Some Useful Databases

This is a short list of article databases that are particularly useful for undergraduates.

Academic Search Premier This is a very large and general database that covers multiple subject areas. It provides some full-text access.

JSTOR Another large, general database that provides full-text access only. However, it does not provide access to currently published materials.

ERIC The largest database for Education in the world.

MLA International Bibliography The most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.

Project MUSE Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Sociological Abstracts International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

PsychArticles A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

PsycINFO An abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.

Subject Guide

Christopher Anglim's picture
Christopher Anglim
Contact:
Building 39, Room B019
Van Ness Campus
202-274-5843