Skip to main content

English Comp II: 112C: Subject Encyclopedia List

This guide identifies resources that may assist students in choosing topics and writing research papers for the course English Composition II, Section 112C

Subject Encyclopedias in Reference Collection

The following are select subject encyclopedias in the Learning Resources Division’s reference collection. They provide a general overview of a subject and aspects or related topics on which one may choose to write a research paper. They are all in the reference section of the 5th floor library, have call numbers that begin with “Ref”, and do not circulate. Call numbers are provided for each title.

Titles:

  • Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States HQ 767.5.U5P35 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice HM 671. E53 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Additions RC 563.4.H65 2006
  • Encyclopedia of Additive Behaviors RC 564. C 95 2006
  • Encyclopedia of Adoption HV 875. 55. A28 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Phenomena BF 1311. F8 L 48 1994
  • Encyclopedia of American Immigration JV 6465. E 53 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Alcoholism HV 5035. 027
  • Encyclopedia of American Political Reform E 839. 5. C57
  • Encyclopedia of American Prisons HV 9471. S 54
  • Encyclopedia of American Race Riots E 184.573 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Assassinations HV 6278. S 54
  • Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment HV6017. E 524 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior HV 6017. E 53 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Cybercrime HV 6773. E 53 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the U. S. HV 8694. P 35 2001
  • Encyclopedias of Career Change and Work Issues HF 5381. E 516
  • Encyclopedia of Child Abuse HV 6626.5 .C 57
  • Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America JC 599. U5 E 53
  • Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion GT 507 .53 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice HV 6017. E 52 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Death and Human Experience HQ 1073. E 544 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Death and Dying HQ 1073. S 25 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Depression RC 537. R 63 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World JV 6225. E 53 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Violence HV 6626. E 34 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior HV 5804. E 532 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes QE 521. R 58 2007
  • Encyclopedias of Elder Care HV 1461. K 34 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues GE 10. E 52
  • Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the U.S. GV 709. 5. E 83 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America TX 349. E 45
  • Encyclopedia of Gangs HV 6439. U5 E 53 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity and Talent LC 3993.2 .E 63 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders and Birth Defects RB 155.5 W 96 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Genocide HV 6322. 7 .E 53
  • Encyclopedia of Global Change, Environmental Change And Human Society GE 149. E47 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change QC 981. 8 .G56 E47 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights KF 3941. A 68 U 88
  • Encyclopedia of health and Aging RA 777.6 E 534
  • Encyclopedia of High-tech Crime and Crime Fighting HV 6773. N48 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Homelessness HV 4493. E 53
  • Encyclopedia of Homosexuality HQ 76. 25. E 53 1990
  • Encyclopedia of Human Relationships HM 1106. E 53 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights JC 571. E 673
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues Since 1945 JC 571, K2747
  • Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons & Cyclones QC 944. 466 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence HM 1121. E57 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Islam BP 40. E525 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence HV 9104. E59 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Marriage, Divorce and the Family HQ 9. D 38
  • Encyclopedia of Media and Politics P 95. 82. U6 E 47 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Minorities in Politics E 184. A1 E 54 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts GN 496. E 56 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Obesity RC 628. E 53 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders RC 552. E 18 C37
  • Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues RA 652. E 535 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears and Anxieties RC 55. D 63
  • Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities HV 947. E 427
  • Encyclopedia of Privacy JC 5962. U 5 E 53
  • Encyclopedia of Prophecy BF 1786. A 84
  • Encyclopedia of Race and Crime HV 6789. E 43
  • Encyclopedia of Social Problems HN 28. E 55 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Suicide HV 6545. E 87
  • Encyclopedia of Terrorism HV 6431. K 883 2003
  • Encyclopedia of White Collar Crime HV 6768. E 65 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World HQ 1127. S 25
  • Women's Issues Worldwide HQ 1115. G 74
  • World Problems and Human Potential H 41. E 53

Subject Guide

Faith Rusk's picture
Faith Rusk
Contact:
Building 39, Room B020
Van Ness Campus
202-274-6116