Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation

Use this guide for an orientation to the UDC Library's resources and services and for tips on starting and completing a research project.

Circulating Materials

UDC students, faculty, and staff, as well as those affiliated with WRLC institutions, can check out print books and media from the UDC Library. 

Reference

The UDC Library's print reference collection, including dictionaries and encyclopedias, may be used on site at the Van Ness and 801 North Capitol Street library locations.  

Course Reserves

You may be able to find your textbook in the library! Textbooks on reserve can be checked out for two hours at a time. Learn more about course reserves here.

WRLC

The UDC Library is a member of the Washington Research Library Consortium. UDC students, faculty, and staff can search for items at any of the other WRLC libraries in UDC Search and request delivery to UDC through Consortium Loan Service.  

Candid/Foundation Center

The University of the District of Columbia (UDC) is a Funding Information Network (FIN) partner of Candid. The Network is composed of libraries, community foundations, NGOs, and nonprofit resource centers across the country and around the world. As a FIN partner, UDC provides free access to the most comprehensive information available on foundation and corporate giving. It features print and electronic resources as well as professional staff to assist visitors. 

Please see our guide to Candid for information on accessing and using Candid/Foundation Center resources.

Special Collections

Black Studies: The UDC Library offers a small collection of Black Studies titles for use on site at the Van Ness campus Main Library. 

Center for the Advancement of Learning Special Collection: A collection of print books on faculty development, learner engagement, instructional design, and online learning is available at the Van Ness campus Main Library.

UDC Archives

A wide range of materials on the history of UDC and its predecessor institutions (Antioch School of Law, Federal City College, Miner Normal School, Miner Teachers College, Washington Technical Institute, Wilson Normal School, and Wilson Teachers College) is available in the UDC Archives. Contact archivist Chris Anglim by email at canglim@udc.edu or by phone at 202-274-5843 for further information.

Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives

The Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives at UDC is a research and resource center for the study, preservation, and continued development of one of America’s greatest original cultural treasures: jazz.

Digital Repository

The UDC Library's digital repository contains digitized materials from the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, issues of the Black Film Review and theses written by students at UDC and predecessor institutions.