Skip to main content

Library Orientation: Finding Books

An easy access point to the LRD library resources.

WRLC

UDC belongs to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC).

The nine member libraries share circulating materials with each other and have a common library catalog.

You can use the catalog to look for materials in all of the libraries' collections at one time, or you can limit your search to any one of the libraries.

E-book Collections

The UDC Library currently has access to a little over 380,000 unique titles in various ebook collections. There are a few ways to access the library's ebooks. One way is to do a search in the library catalog. You can also go directly to some of the ebook collections and search for titles via their particular search interfaces:

UDC Search - Find Articles, Books, & more!

Search:

...or explore the full-text electronic collections in our A to Z Resource List.

You might also want to see our Index of Research Guides.

UDC Search

UDC Search is where you search for materials that are owned by the library. 

This is called a "discovery layer". It allows you to search for books, DVDs, CDs, reference books, electronic books, etc., plus some journal articles* and other online content, all at the same time.

Start your search using the search box above, also found on our library homepage.

Once you perform an initial search, you will be presented with options to refine your search and to perform an advanced search. Take a look at the Advanced Search interface.

*Note that the single search box does not provide you with the ability to find all of the journal articles the library has access to -- it is best to use the article databases that we provide to do a thorough search for articles.

Finding Books in a Library

All libraries have a catalog that makes it possible to search for books using a title, author or subject/keyword search term.  At UDC one searches the catalog using our single search box, UDC Search.

To find a book in the library shelves you will need to have the full call number of the book.

What is a call number?

A call number is a code made up of a series of numbers and letters; each book in the library has a call number. In academic libraries, like ours here at UDC, the Library of Congress Classification System is used to create a call number for a book. This is what a call number looks like in the catalog:

This is what a call number looks like on the book:

"Reading" a Call Number

A call number is a code, and just like any other code, it can be deciphered. This guide explains how to read a call number.

If you need help finding a book in the library please ask the reference librarian for help.

Google Books

Google books provides digital access to millions of books, many of which were gathered from the largest research libraries in the United States and abroad. Not all content is available full-text due to copyright restrictions.

Find out more about Google Books.

  • Like Google Scholar, Google Books provides access to a huge number of resources.  The best way to find things that are pertinent is to use the advanced search features in Google Books' Advanced Book Search page.
  • Google Books is best used for finding books that are out-of-print or "out of copyright" as these are the types of materials for which Google Books can provide full-text access. All materials that meet your search criteria will be included in your search results, whether they are available in full-text or only as citations. Most items that are not available in full-text can probably be purchased or retrieved through consortium loan or inter-library loan.
  • Google Books and Google Scholar are not cross-referenced.  What this means is that you may find things are in Google Books that are not in Google Scholar, and vice versa.  To do comprehensive searches, you will need search in both.