Learning Resources Division: Biomedical Engineering: Books

Browse the Stacks

If you want to browse the stacks for biomedical engineering books, you can find titles related to this topic in the call number sections below. If you need assistance finding a topic or a specific title, just ask a reference librarian for help.

QH – Biology

R 855-855.5 – Medical technology

R 856-857 – Biomedical engineering

TA – Engineering

Recommended Books

Applied Science: Science and Medicine by Salem Press Editors; Donald Franceschetti (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-11-20
Provides in-depth coverage of 110 wide-ranging fields of science and medicine, including bioengineering, biomechanics, clinical engineering, and orthopedics.
Bioinspired Devices: Emulating Nature's Assembly and Repair Process by Eugene C. Goldfield
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780674981928
Publication Date: 2018-01-08
The author lays out principles of engineering found in the natural world, with a focus on how components of coordinated structures organize themselves into autonomous functional systems. This self-organizing capacity is one of many qualities which can be harnessed to design technologies that can interact seamlessly with human bodies.
Biomedical Engineering Challenges by Vincenzo Piemonte (Editor); Angelo Basile (Editor); Taichi Ito (Editor); Luigi Marrelli (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-02-12
An important resource that puts the focus on the chemical engineering aspects of biomedical engineering. In the past 50 years, remarkable achievements have been advanced in the fields of biomedical and chemical engineering. With contributions from leading chemical engineers, Biomedical Engineering Challenges reviews the recent research and discovery that sits at the interface of engineering and biology. The authors explore the principles and practices that are applied to the ever-expanding array of such new areas as gene-therapy delivery, biosensor design, and the development of improved therapeutic compounds, imaging agents, and drug delivery vehicles.
Biomedical Fluid Dynamics by Troy Shinbrot
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
This is a readable and attractively presented textbook on fluid flow in biological systems that includes flow through blood vessels, pulsatile flow, and pattern formation. It bridges the divide among biomedical engineering students between those with an engineering and those with abio-scientific background, by offering guidance in both physiological and mathematical aspects of the subject. Every chapter includes surprising, amusing, and stimulating effects that the reader may want to experiment on their own. Brief historical vignettes are also included throughout this book.
Medical Device Design by Peter J. Ogrodnik
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
This book provides the bridge between engineering design and medical device development. It addresses medical devices' regulatory (FDA and EU) requirements--some of the most stringent engineering requirements globally. Engineers failing to meet these requirements can cause serious harm to users as well as their products' commercial prospects. This Handbook shows the essential methodologies medical designers must understand to ensure their products meet requirements.
Plenty of Room for Biology at the Bottom: An Introduction to Bionanotechnology by Ehud Gazit
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013-07-08
This expanded and updated text introduces readers from various backgrounds to the rapidly growing interface between biology and nanotechnology. It intellectually integrates concepts, applications, and outlooks from these major scientific fields and presents them to readers from diverse backgrounds in a comprehensive and didactic manner. Written by two leading nanobiologists actively involved at the forefront of the field both as researchers and educators, this book takes the reader from the fundamentals of nanobiology to the most advanced applications.
Principles of Biomedical Engineering, 2nd edition by Sundar Madihally
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
This updated edition of a classic introduces readers to the importance of engineering in medicine. Bioelectrical phenomena, principles of mass and momentum transport to the analysis of physiological systems, the importance of mechanical analysis in biological tissues/ organs and biomaterial selection are discussed in detail.
Solid Biomechanics by Roland Ennos
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2011-10-10
This is the first book to comprehensively review the mechanical design of organisms. With a physical approach and a minimum of mathematics, the textbook introduces readers to the world of structural mechanics and sheds light on the dazzling array of mechanical adaptations that link creatures as dissimilar as bacteria, plants, and animals. Exploring a wide range of subjects in depth, from spider silks and sharkskin to climbing plants and human food processing, this immensely accessible text demonstrates that the bodies of animals and plants are masterpieces of engineering, enabling them to survive in a hostile world.

E-books

E-books are books, too! They just happen to be available to you online. Just like any of the library's databases, these can be used from anywhere with an Internet connection. When prompted, all you have to do is log-in using your UDC credentials.

Many e-books may be downloaded (chapter-by-chapter or the entire book) and some can even be printed. If you check out an e-book, it will "disappear" from your library account on its due date.

E-books are available in many of the library's databases. You can try a few of them in the list below:

Books In Print This link opens in a new window
Books In Print is the world's largest, unbiased, web-based bibliographic resource, a comprehensive database of almost 20 million book, e-book, audio book, and video titles available from 43 different markets worldwide. It features over 462,000 tables of contents, 3.4 million annotations, and 3.5 million reviews of titles by more than 426,000 publishers, as well as extensive cover images and author biographies. Also included is Fiction Connection, a reader's advisory tool.
eBooks@Adelaide This link opens in a new window
The University of Adelaide provides full-text electronic books of classic works of literature, philosophy, and history from a variety of countries, most available free online to anyone because the copyright has expired. Users can browse by subject, title, author, or search by keywords.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Focused e-book collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books, including Business Plans collection
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A collaboration between the members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and institutions in the University of California system, Hathi Trust is a repository for the archiving and sharing of digitized collections, which can range from nineteenth-century periodicals to historical bicycling to war to hard-to-find government documents and congressional materials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X. Also includes e-books.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Over 30,000 titles are available.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 e-books on a wide range of topics, including: business and economics; computers and information technology; education; engineering and technology; history and political science; humanities; interdisciplinary and area studies; language, literature and linguistics; law, international relations and public policy; life sciences; medical; nursing and allied health; physical sciences; psychology and social work; religion, philosophy and classics; sociology and anthropology.
Universal Library This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 electronic books available from the Internet Archive.

Biomedical Engineering

Browse the Stacks

Recommended Books

E-books

ask@udc.libanswers.com

202-274-6120