Skip to Main Content
Home About Us Research & Find Services Faculty FAQs Contact Us
  • My Library Account

    • News & Events

    Hidden Gems

    by Meghan Kowalski on 2024-06-05T09:00:00-04:00 | 0 Comments

    When it comes to searching library databases, we all have our regular favorites. It's why we even list the most frequently used databases on our A to Z List. Now, don't get us wrong, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, and Opposing Viewpoints in Context are amazing, but there are over 250 databases to choose from! We wanted to highlight a few of our favorite hidden gems. Click the title of each database to check them out for yourself.

    Access World News This link opens in a new window
     
    Newsbank Access World News provides a combination of global, regional, and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (PDF image editions, web-only, full-text), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty.
    Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
     
    More than 2,200 full-text journal titles and more than 360 full-text books including coverage in the following areas which align with UDC programs: general business, architecture, home & houses, aerospace sciences, general technology, telecommunications, construction & building, industrial technology, accounting & tax, computer science, law, educational assessment & evaluation, educational levels, fashion & style, visual arts, hospitality industry, hotel & restaurant management, recreation & leisure studies, travel, law enforcement industry, law enforcement & intelligence, social sciences & humanities, funeral services industry, music, allied health, health & medicine, medical administration & management, medical care & services.
    Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
    New
    The experience of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
    FSTA with Full Text This link opens in a new window
    New
    Food Science and Technology Abstracts with Full Text is a specialized full-text database covering scientific and technological literature relating to food, beverages, and nutrition. It is produced in collaboration with a team of experts within IFIS, a not-for-profit organization with an ongoing commitment to learning and development and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy, and excellence.
    Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
     
    Subjects Covered: Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Chemistry, Communication & Info Technology, Computers, Construction, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.
    Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
     
    This database indexes over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. It provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
     

    We also want to give a special shout out to all the amazing databases with primary sources. They are chock full of photos, documents, and videos that bring history and research alive.

    What's your favorite hidden gem?

     Add a Comment

    0 Comments.

      Search this Blog


      Recent Posts


    What to expect when you meet with a librarian
    Spring Webinar Series: AI in Context
    A Back-to-Class Checklist

      Subscribe


    Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


      Archive


      Subjects


    Information Literacy
      Return to Blog
    This post is closed for further discussion.

    title
    Loading...

    ask@udc.libanswers.com

    202-274-6120

    Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube