This is the "Home" page of the "Zotero" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Zotero   Tags: bibliography, citations, references, sources  

Free bibliographic citation database software
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/zotero Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Request a Workshop!

Just say no to notecards! The UDC Learning Resources Division offers free hands-on Zotero workshops.

All workshops will be held in LRD classroom 41-104. Reservations are not required.

No workshops are currently scheduled but if you are interested, you are encouraged to request a training session.

 

News from Zotero

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Alternatives

There are other software products for managing bibliographic citations. Many are not free. You could also type all your references in a word processor. Or you could really go old school and use notecards.

 

What Is Zotero?

"Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."

It was developed by the Center for New Media and History at George Mason University, one of our WRLC partners. 

To get a quick overview, watch this 3-minute video from the Zotero site.

 

I'm sorry - what are we talking about?

Bibliographic citations appear in papers, books, and articles - often as "footnotes" or "endnotes." They tell where - in which bibliographic source - the writer found a piece of information.

A bibliography is a list of sources. Both citations and bibliographies can appear in many different styles. Your professor may require you to use a specific style. Zotero can reformat to a different style instantly.

Zotero makes creating citations and bibliographies easy and handles much of the formatting work for whatever bibliographic style you need.

 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


How Do I...?

My Profile

Profile Image
Michael Fitzgerald
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Building 41, Room 201G
202-274-6387
Send Email

For More Information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip