This is the "Home" page of the "POLI 205" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POLI 205  

A guide for Dr. Shroyer's POLI 205: Introduction to Political Science
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/poli205 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citations

APA style is required for course. 

You can find a print copy of the APA Style Manual, 6th Edition in the Reference section on the 5th floor or the Learning Resources Division.

For citation assistance accessible online, I recommend OWL at Purdue. They cover all formats and provide examples.

Even if you get your citation from a database, I encourage you to always check it against the print manual or an online guide such as OWL at Purdue.

 

Annotated Bibliography

If you have questions about how to approach an annotated bibliography, OWL at Purdue has a convenient guide to help you understand this step of the research process. 

 

Feedback Form

Please fill out this short Library Instruction Feedback Form. This quick form helps me improve my teaching.

 

Help?

Any questions or concerns? Having trouble finding that last article? Need help focusing your research question? Not sure if you citations are correct? You can always contact Faith Rusk at faith.rusk@udc.edu, or 202-274-1661. 

 

Brainstorming Activity

To help develop a focused research question from a broad topic, students are asked to consider the questions in the quadrant below. 

What? 

  • What is your topic? What other issues/events are similar or related to your topic? 

Who? 

  • Who is affected by your topic? Who is involved?

How? 

  • How does your topic impact society, culture, politics, economics? 

Why? 

  • Why does this topic matter to you? Why should it matter to others? 

For a PDF of the question quadrant, click here.

 

Searching for Articles

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your political science research and assignments.

  • Academic Search PremierAn excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • JSTORDigitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, VII.
  • LexisNexis AcademicNews, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
  • ProQuest Research LibraryFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    An online resource covering social issues. Provides reports that can help students come up with topic ideas and critically examine multiple sides of an issue. *Note that the resources contained in this database are not scholarly peer reviewed articles. If scholarly peer reviewed articles are required for your assignment, you can reference this database, but you should not cite sources from it.

Remember that you can narrow your search by date, by source type (e.g. scholarly, periodical), and by additional search terms.

If you cannot access an article you need for your research, contact your librarian.

 

Evaluating Sources

For our Evaluating Sources activity, we will be using the following two articles:

To evaluate these articles we will use the CRAAP worksheet.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Faith Rusk
Contact Info
202-274-6116
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip