Word BasicsWord ToolbarsWord ShortcutsWord FormattingWord Inserting Graphs/PicturesHow To Books
This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing   Tags: nursing  

Last Updated: May 11, 2017 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

US Department of Health and Human Services Twitter Feed

 

Nurse Aides of Washington, D.C.

Volunteer Aides, Freedman's Hospital

Answering call for volunteer nurses aides. Part of the class of senior volunteer nurses aides of Freedmen's Hospital, Washington, D.C., photo by Roger Smith, February 1943.

For more information on this photo, please see the Library of Congress' Prints & Photographs catalog

 

Introduction

Nursing is the care and nurturing of healthy and ill people, individually or in groups and communities. The American Nurses Association identifies four essential features of contemporary nursing practice: 1) Attention to the full range of human experiences and responses to health and illness without restriction to a problem-focused orientation; 2) Integration of objective data with knowledge gained from an understanding of the patient or group’s subjective experience; 3) Application of scientific knowledge to the processes of diagnosis and treatment; and 4) Provision of a caring relationship that facilitates health and healing.

In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in nursing.

You can navigate this guide using the tabs above to help you get to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.

Recommended Databases

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your nursing research and assignments.

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • CINAHL
    CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature.
  • JSTOR
    Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
  • Pharmaceutical News Index
    This database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
  • PsycArticles
    A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
  • PubMed Central
    PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
  • Science Full-Text Select
    Science Full-Text Select has some coverage of nutrition and nursing-related journals.
 

Recommended Books

Cover Art
A History of American Nursing - Deborah Judd; Kathleen Sitzman; G. Megan Davis
Call Number: RT4 .J83 2010
ISBN: 9780763759513
Publication Date: 2009-03-19

Cover Art
Contemporary Maternal-Newborn Nursing - Patricia W. Ladewig; Marcia L. London; Michele R. Davidson
Call Number: RG951 .L33 2010
ISBN: 9780135025857
Publication Date: 2009-01-28

Cover Art
Health Assessment and Physical Examination - Mary Ellen Zator Estes; Mary Ellen Estes
Call Number: RT48 .C584 2010
ISBN: 9781435427587
Publication Date: 2009-07-16

Cover Art
Professional Nursing - Kay Kittrell Chitty; Beth Perry Black
Call Number: RT82 .P755 2011
ISBN: 9781437707199
Publication Date: 2010-01-22

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Faith Rusk
Contact Info
202-274-6116
Send Email
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip