Music & Theater resources.
Last Updated: May 11, 2017
We're here for YOU!
Remember you can always contact us with questions.
In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor
In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in music and theater.
You can navigate this guide use the tabs above to help you navigate to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.
- Academic Search Premier
An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
- American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
More than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation?s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
- Digital Archive of Popular American Music
The Digital Archive of Popular American Music is an initiative designed to provide access to digital versions of the sheet music, and performances of the songs covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present that are now in the public domain.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
- Music & Dance Reference
At present the online bibliography includes approximately 6,500 bibliographies and reference sources (both print and online), approximately 1,600 of which are annotated with critiques on use, coverage, organization, and pros and cons. Many entries also list published reviews for the corresponding sources. The bibliography is growing actively with new sources and critiques added on a regular basis.
- ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- AHDS Performing Arts
AHDS Performing Arts collects, documents, preserves and promotes the use of digital resources to support research and teaching across the broad field of the performing arts: music, film, broadcast arts, theatre, dance.
- American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers
The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a membership association of more than 427,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music. Through agreements with affiliated international societies, ASCAP also represents hundreds of thousands of music creators worldwide.
- Americans for the Arts
Founded in 1960, Americans for the Arts is the nation's leading nonprofit organization for advancing the arts and arts education. They are dedicated to representing and serving local communities and to creating opportunities for every American to participate in and appreciate all forms of the arts.
Artslynx is a portal website that includes curated directories of links to arts resources on the web. The directory includes links for the literary, media, performing, and visual arts and covers funding, technical resources, equipment and supplies, magazines and journals, as well as relevant education, organization, criticism, and research links. There are sections on arts advocacy, arts administration, and arts empowerment.
- College Music Society
The College Music Society promotes music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction. A consortium of college, conservatory, university, and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music, the Society provides leadership and serves as an agent of change by addressing concerns facing music in higher education.
- Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars
This guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice.