This is the "Home" page of the "Mechanical Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mechanical Engineering   Tags: engineering, mechanical_engineering  

Resources for Mechanical Engineering.
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/mechanical_engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

Mechanical Engineering News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

Mechanical Engineering is the branch of engineering concerned with the design, manufacture, installation, and operation of engines, machines, and manufacturing processes. Mechanical engineering involves application of the principles of dynamics, control, thermodynamics and heat transfer, fluid mechanics, strength of materials, materials science, electronics, and mathematics. It is concerned with machine tools, motor vehicles, textile machinery, packaging machines, printing machinery, metalworking machines, welding, air conditioning, refrigerators, agricultural machinery, and many other machines and processes essential to an industrial economy. - Britannica Concise Encyclopedia

In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in mechanical engineering.

You can navigate this guide use the tabs above to help you navigate to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.

Recommended Databases

  • ASME International Journals
    Publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
  • IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
    IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
  • ProQuest Science Journals
    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features nearly 1,300 titles—most available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
  • Science Full Text Select
    Subjects Covered: Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Chemistry, Communication & Info Technology, Computers, Construction, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.
  • ScienceDirect Physical Sciences College Edition
    More than 650 current journals in the areas of Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy, Engineering, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy from the leading full-text scientific database.
 

Books

An introduction to mechanical engineering - Jonathan Wickert
Call Number: TJ145 .W636 2006
ISBN: 0534552978

Mechanical engineer's handbook - Dan B. Marghitu (ed.)
Call Number: TJ151 .M3953 2001
ISBN: 012471370X


Recommended Websites

  • Design News
    Design News is the leading technical resource, both in print and online, providing technology news, opinion, analysis, end-user examples and tutorials for engineers and engineering managers who design consumer and industry-specific products and systems that range in application from planes, trains and automobiles to cellular phones, industrial machinery, medical devices, and more.
  • Mechanical Engineering @ Intute
    A free online service providing access to Web resources for education and research. It covers the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and envienvironmental science. *No longer updated.
  • ThermoDex
    ThermoDex contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances.
  • Unit Conversion Calculator
    A comprehensive unit conversion calculator.

My Profile

Profile Image
Michael Fitzgerald
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Building 41, Room 201G
202-274-6387
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip