Resources for UDC students
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2015
We're here for YOU!
Remember you can always contact us with questions.
In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor
Links to Jazz related stories from NPR Music.
In addition to print books (both in the main library collection and in the Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives), we have a good collection of electronic books on the subject of jazz. See the tab above where you will find them organized into several categories.
UDC is home to the internationally-recognized Felix E. Grant Jazz Archives, which holds thousands of items related to the study and appreciation of jazz. Some resources, including the numerous radio interviews conducted by Felix Grant, are avaialble online. Other materials must be used on site and items in the collection do not circulate.
- Academic Search Premier
An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
- American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Digital Archive of Popular American Music
The Digital Archive of Popular American Music is an initiative designed to provide access to digital versions of the sheet music, and performances of the songs covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present that are now in the public domain.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
- Music & Dance Reference
At present the online bibliography includes approximately 6,500 bibliographies and reference sources (both print and online), approximately 1,600 of which are annotated with critiques on use, coverage, organization, and pros and cons. Many entries also list published reviews for the corresponding sources. The bibliography is growing actively with new sources and critiques added on a regular basis.
- ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.