This is the "Home" page of the "IGED 391: Frontier Capstone Intersectionality" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IGED 391: Frontier Capstone Intersectionality  

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2017 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/iged391stallworth Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Scholarly Articles

Opposing Viewpoints does not always have scholarly sources availalbe, but it can help you find your controversial topic, and from there, you can use Proquest Research Library to find a scholarly article on the topic.

  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context
    The premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Google Scholar
 

Additional Resources

For additional databases, visit our A-Z Resource List, which has all of our databases listed alphabetically.

You can also browse all of our library guides to find resources for a specific subject area.

 

Citation Practice

In text citation examples (with annotations)

  • This document contains examples of ways you can use information from a source with comments

Practice

Excerpt from a scholarly article.

Similar to the examples found in "In text Citation Examples," wite a sentence (or two) summarizing, paraphrasing, or quoting the excerpt.

Submit your text via this form.

Sample paraphraphs 

  • We will be using these paraphraphs taken from a scholarly article to analyze for different ways they have used source material

As you read the paragraphs, look for:

  • Quotes
  • Paraphrases/Summaries
  • Citations without quotations
  • Citations without the author’s name (because name is mentioned in the text)
  • Citations with one author
  • Citations with two authors
  • Organizational Author
  • Citation that lists multiple sources
  • Brackets and ellipses – you can make the text work for you.
  • Commentary from the article author/authorial assertions

How well do you think the author used evidence to support their argument?

Bad Citations

This document contains flawed citations.

To check to see if you found them all, look at the key.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Faith Rusk
Contact Info
202-274-6116
Send Email
 

Feedback Form

Please fill out this short Library Instruction Feedback Form. This quick form helps me improve my teaching.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip