This is the "Home" page of the "IGED 280/ENSC 460: Climate Change and Carbon Reduction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IGED 280/ENSC 460: Climate Change and Carbon Reduction  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2017 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/iged280richardson Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Scholarly Articles

  • Science Full Text Select
    Subjects Covered: Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Chemistry, Communication & Info Technology, Computers, Construction, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Subjects Covered: Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Other Databases

These databases do not combile scholarly, peer reviewed articles. However, they may have information that could prove useful in addition to your required scholarly sources.

  • EBSCO eBooks
    Focused collections include: Agriculture, Community College, Environment and Sustainability, Green Technology, Nursing, Political Science, Ready Reference, Social Work.
  • UNdata
    The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
  • World Development Report Online
    For over thirty years, the annual WDR has provided a window on development economics to a broad international readership. The report has served as one of the principal vehicles for encapsulating the World Bank's knowledge of and policy recommendations on key global development trends. From agriculture and the environment to economic growth and international trade, the WDR has tracked theoretical and empirical findings as well as policies in the field of international development.
 

Keyword Searching

The databases require Keyword Searching. Use this worksheet to help you come up with keywords and synonyms for your search.

 

Evaluating Sources

Evaluating your sources is an important step in the research process.

The CRAAP test can be a useful for evaluating sources. It asks you to consider a source's Currency, Relevancy, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.

CRAAP Test Worksheet and Rubric

 

Brainstorming

To help develop a focused research question from a broad topic, students are asked to consider the questions in the quadrant below. 

What? 

  • What is your topic? What other issues/events are similar or related to your topic? 

Who? 

  • Who is affected by your topic? Who is involved?

How? 

  • How does your topic impact society, culture, politics, economics? 

Why? 

  • Why does this topic matter to you? Why should it matter to others? 

For a PDF of the question quadrant, click here.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Faith Rusk
Contact Info
202-274-6116
Send Email
 

Feedback Form

Please fill out this short Library Instruction Feedback Form. This quick form helps me improve my teaching.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip