This is the "Home" page of the "IGED 111: Professor Hayden's Foundation Writing II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IGED 111: Professor Hayden's Foundation Writing II  

Last Updated: Apr 18, 2017 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/iged111hayden Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citations

MLA style is required for course. 

You can find a print copy of the MLA Style Manual in the Reference section on the 5th floor or the Learning Resources Division, call number PN147 .G444 2008.

For citation assistance accessible online, I recommend OWL at Purdue. They cover all formats and provide examples.

Even if you get your citation from a database, I encourage you to always check it against the print manual or an online guide such as OWL at Purdue.

 

Help?

Any questions or concerns? Having trouble finding that last article? Need help focusing your research question? Not sure if you citations are correct? You can always contact Faith Rusk at faith.rusk@udc.edu, or 202-274-6116. 

 

Finding Reference Sources

 

Searching for Articles

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your political science research and assignments.

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    An online resource covering social issues. Provides reports that can help students come up with topic ideas and critically examine multiple sides of an issue. *Note that the resources contained in this database are not scholarly peer reviewed articles. If scholarly peer reviewed articles are required for your assignment, you can reference this database, but you should not cite sources from it.

Remember that you can narrow your search by date, by source type (e.g. scholarly, periodical), and by additional search terms.

If you cannot access an article you need for your research, contact your librarian.

You can access reference materials through the library catalog, and reliable demographic information about countries can be found through the CIA World Factbook.

 

Search Strategies

Keywords: Databases require that you search using keywords, rather than questions. You cannot search "What are the prevention strategies for early childhood obesity" the way you might in Google. The databases search for everything you enter, which means they are also searching for "what" "are" and "the," which could clutter your results, or narrow them too much.

Thus, you must select keywords to search: prevention, early childhood, obesity can be pulled out.

Synonyms: Since the databases will search for ONLY what you enter, often time you have to think of synonyms for your keywords. Early childhood obesity could also be referred to as pediatric obesity, or perhaps infant obesity. Sometimes it's easiest to do multiple searches using these different terms. Other times you might want to use Boolean search terms to use a single search.

Use this worksheet to practice pulling out keywords and thinking of synonyms.

Useful Search Tools:

Quotation Marks: Quotation marks allow you to search for an exact phrase. "Childhood Obesity" will search for occurences of the exact phrase, not articles that have childhood in one place and obesity in another sentence. This can be very useful, but do not assume that it is always required. Especially when there are synonyms for some of your keywords, or if you aren't entirely sure you search terms will get you the correct results, doing the broader search without quotations might be a safer place to start.

Wildcard: Most databases have a wildcard symbol, which allows you to search for all of the variable endings of a root word. For example, educat* will search for educate, education, educational, and educator. However, be careful, because sometimes unrelated words might share the same root. You might want to search for policy or policies, but polic* will also give you police.

Boolean Search Terms: In short, AND, OR, and NOT. For more information about how these work, see this document.

Remember: These databases are not smart like Google. Google will autocorrect and say "I think you meant this." These databases will search for exactly what you type, which means sometimes you have to try a few different things. If you have trouble finding sources, contact a librarian for help.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Faith Rusk
Contact Info
202-274-6116
Send Email
 

Feedback Form

Please fill out this short Library Instruction Feedback Form. This quick form helps me improve my teaching.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip