This is the "Home" page of the "Human Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Resources  

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/humanresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

Society for Human Resource Management News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

This guide is a starting point for researching human resources management issues at UDC. It includes both primary and secondary materials in both print and electronic formats. Recommended books from our collection are also identified.

Human Resource Management (HRM) is the function within an organization that focuses on recruitment of, management of, and providing direction for the people who work in the organization. Human Resource Management is also understood to be the organizational function governing  issues related to people such as compensation, hiring, performance management, organization development, safety, wellness, benefits, employee motivation, communication, administration, and training.

Recommended Databases

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your human resources research and assignments.

  • ABI Inform
  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • Business Source Elite
    Full text of business, management and economics journal literature, plus rich non-journal materials such as financial reports, etc. From 1985 to present.
  • JSTOR
    Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
 

Recommended Books

Human Resources Management - Gary Dessler
Call Number: HF5549 .D4379 2011
ISBN: 9780136089957
Publication Date: 2010-01-07

Human Resources Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations - Joan E. Pynes; Pynes; Joan Pynes
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 0470331852
Publication Date: 2009-01-20

Managing Human Resources - George Bohlander; Scott Snell
Call Number: HF5549 .C465 2007
ISBN: 0324314639
Publication Date: 2006-02-07

Recommended Websites

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Christopher Anglim
Contact Info
Building 41, Second Floor
(202) 274-5843
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip