This is the "Home" page of the "Graphic Design & Production" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Graphic Design & Production   Tags: art, graphic design  

Last Updated: May 11, 2017 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/graphicdesign Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

Graphics.com News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

Graphic design is "the art and profession of selecting and arranging visual elements-such as typography, images, symbols, and colours-to convey a message to an audience. Sometimes graphic design is called ‘visual communications.’ It is a collaborative discipline: writers produce words and photographers and illustrators create images that the designer incorporates into a complete visual message." - From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia

In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in graphic design.

Use the tabs above to help you navigate to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.

Recommended Databases

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your graphic design research and assignments.

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • Project MUSE - Standard Collection
    Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • ProQuest Career and Technical Education
    The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic, including: computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
 

Recommended Books

Digital Design for Print and Web: An Introduction to Theory, Principles and Techniques - John P. DiMarco
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9780470398364
Publication Date: 2010-03-01


Graphic Designer's Print and Color Handbook - Barb Karg; Constance J. Sidles; Rick Sutherland
Call Number: Z258 .S57 2005
ISBN: 1592531911
Publication Date: 2005-11-01

Thinking with Type: A Critical Guide for Designers, Writers, Editors, and Students - Ellen Lupton
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9781568989693
Publication Date: 2010-10-06

Recommended Websites

  • American Institute of Graphic Arts
    AIGA’s mission is to advance designing as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force.
  • Communication Arts
    Founded in 1959, Communication Arts is the premier source of inspiration for graphic designers, art directors, design firms, corporate design departments, advertising agencies, interactive designers, illustrators and photographers—everyone involved in visual communication.
  • Design Addict
    Design Addict is the leading design portal online, targeting the international community of design professionals and private consumers.
  • Graphics.com
    Graphic design news, tutorials, galleries, reviews and more.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Faith Rusk
Contact Info
202-274-6116
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip