This is the "Home" page of the "Early Childhood Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early Childhood Education   Tags: early_childhood_education, education  

Last Updated: Jun 16, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/earlychildhood Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

Hatch Early Learning Experts Blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

This guide provides you with one place to access the LRD library's resources in the area of early childhood education. Here you will find links to article databases, the library catalog and reference resources.

Also collected in this guide are links to related websites, statistical resources and other things we thought might be of interest or use.

If you have problems accessing any of the resources listed in this guide, please do not hesitate to contact the librarians listed on the right side of this page.

 

Recommended Databases

ERIC: the primary education database in the United States; created by the U.S. Department of Education.

ProQuest Education Journals: ProQuest Education Journals offers complete information on hundreds of educational topics and gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. [Switching to new platform by January 2012]

Education Research Complete: Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.

Teacher Reference Center: This database indexes over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. It provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Academic Search Premier: An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.

 

Recommended Books

Early Childhood Curriculum: Developmental Bases For Learning and Teaching - Sue C. Wortham
Call Number: LB1139.4 .W67 2010
ISBN: 0137152337
Publication Date: 2009-07-01

Early Learning and Development: Cultural-Historical Concepts in Play - Marilyn Fleer
Call Number: LB1139.23 .F64 2010
ISBN: 9780521122658
Publication Date: 2010-03-22

Getting It RIGHT for Young Children from Diverse Backgrounds - Linda Espinosa
Call Number: LB1139.225 .E86 2010
ISBN: 9780132224161
Publication Date: 2009-08-13

The Hidden History of Head Start - Edward Zigler; Sally J. Styfco
Call Number: LC4091 .Z55 2010
ISBN: 9780195393767
Publication Date: 2010-05-07

Recommended Websites

  • Center for the Improvement of Early Reading Achievement
    The Center for the Improvement of Early Reading Achievement (CIERA) is a national center for research on early reading, representing a consortium of educators from five universities; teacher educators; teachers; publishers of texts, tests, and technology; professional organizations; and schools and school districts across the United States.
  • Children’s Literature Network
    Children’s Literature Network connects, informs, and educates those who have an interest in children’s and teen books, authors, and illustrators.
  • EducationWorld
    EducationWorld includes original content, including lesson plans, practical information for educators, information on how to integrate technology in the classroom, and articles written by education experts; Web site reviews; special features and columns; and employment listings.
  • The National Association for the Education of Young Children
    NAEYC is the leading membership association for those working with and on behalf of children from birth through age 8. NAEYC convenes thought leaders, teachers and other practitioners, researchers, and other stakeholders and sets standards of excellence for programs and teachers in early childhood education. NAEYC members include teachers, paraeducators, center directors, trainers, college educators, families of young children, and the public at large. Membership is open to all individuals who share a desire to serve and act on behalf of the needs and rights of all young children.

My Profile

Profile Image
Michael Fitzgerald
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Building 41, Room 201G
202-274-6387
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip