Government Analysis/Research Reports
This is the "Home" page of the "Social Welfare As A Social Institution " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Welfare As A Social Institution  

This guide is designed to provide learning resources for students doing research in the Social Work class SOWK 1311-P02
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2017 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=706500 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sources for Legislation

  • GPO Federal Digital System (FDsys)
    FDsys (formerly GPO Access) is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from FDsys can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
  • THOMAS
    This site provides free access to a wide range of legislative information on Congress, including the full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 101st to the present Congress, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings.

Sources for Newspaper Articles

Why Use Newspapers? 

Newspaper reports via interviews, surveys, speeches, etc.  can provide the latest information on what people are thinking about your topic. Reading different newspaper may provide different perspectives for you to consider in your research.

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
 

Introduction

 

This guide aims to provide students enrolled in the class  "Social Welfare As A Social  Institution" with resources for completing  their research requirements.  It gives access to information availalble  via  the UDC library, WRLC, and external government, organizational, and other local  sources.  

Contact me if you are not able to find the information you are looking for. You may also send your comments about content and improvement of the Research Guide via my email address or the chat link on this page.  Thanks.

 

Databases for Scholarly Articles in the Social Sciences

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • JSTOR
    Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
  • Project Muse
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Subjects Covered: Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Direct News Access

Access is provided to assist with the requirement that students  view or listent to a news source everyday. Various sources were selected with the hope of providing a variety of perspectives on the news items in which you are interested.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip