This is the "Home" page of the "English Comp II: 112C" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Comp II: 112C  

This guide identifies resources that may assist students in choosing topics and writing research papers for the course English Composition II, Section 112C
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2012 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=136480 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Additional Information and Research Assistance

A comprehensive list of subject encyclopedias may be found using the blue tab above.

Be sure to explore all of the other blue tabs for detailed information on accessing, finding or borrowing books and articles; evaluating web sites; understanding the difference between scholarly and popular articles, and appropriately citing sources.

To see other guides providing information sources on various topics, click LRD Research Guides Home.

 

Monographs on Controversial Topics

"At Issue" is the name of one of a series of books found in the Learning Resources Division that provide information on controversial issues. Coverage includes topics such as Is Torture Ever Justified; Club Drugs; Do Taxes Benefit the Economy; Homeschooling; and Has Technology Increased Learning. List of titles

"Opposing Viewpoints" is another series of books in the UDC Library that addresses issues that include Consumerism, Debts, Girls & Sports, Civil Liberties, Gangs, the Environment, Male & Female Roles, etc. List of titles

 

Introduction

This is a guide that provides access or directs you to various resources held by the UDC library as well as on the Web. The primary objectives are:

  1. to provide information on multiple topics you might choose for writing a research paper;
  2. to assist in narrowing a broad topic ; and
  3. to assist in  identifying the number and scope of articles, books or other media available on a chosen topic. 

Specific resources are described in the boxes on this page. Since the course focuses on developing and expressing views on controversial issues, I am also providing links to external websites that may be helpful. In addition, by clicking on the tabs on this page, you may access instructions for using the library system and periodical databases; using the two resource catalogs (ALADIN and SUMMON); borrowing books from the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC); citing resources used in the development of the research paper, and much more. If you have any problems or questions related to the use of specific  library services or resources, please do not hesitate to contact me!

K. Inmon
Librarian

Subject Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias can be very helpful for starting a research project because they provide a comprehensive overview of the subject. They contain information on major issues that is concise, well-researched, and written by subject experts. These encyclopedias often give changes in the field, explains concepts, provides a history, and explore related fields. Sometimes they contain a selective bibliography of most of the important books and articles that have been written on the subject.

If you do not know much about the subject, consider starting your research here rather than using an online database, although they, too, may be helpful.

A few example of subject encyclopedias are:

  • Encyclopedia of Addictions
  • Encyclopedias of Obesity and Eating Disorders
  • Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
  • Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media

Additional titles can be seen by clicking on the Subject Encyclopedia List tab above.

my profile

Profile Image
Katie Inmon
Contact Info
Building 41, Room 508
202-274-6029
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip