This is the "Home" page of the "Computer Science/Information Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Science/Information Technology  

Computer Science is the study of the theoretical foundations of information and computation. It includes practical techniques for their implementation and application in computer systems. Information Technology deals with technology to treat information.
Last Updated: Nov 4, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/computerscience Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

ScienceDaily: Computer Science News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

Computer Science is the study of computation and computer technology, hardware, and software, and of the application of computer technology to science, business, and the arts. Computer science includes many subject including artificial intelligence and software engineering.

Information Technology includes many areas including computer software, information systems, computer hardware, programming languages, and are not limited to functions such as processes, and data constructs. Any device that renders data, information or perceived knowledge in any visual format whatsoever, through any multimedia distribution mechanism, is considered to be IT. IT provides organizations with four sets of core services to help execute the business strategy: business process automation, providing information, connecting with customers, and productivity tools.

Recommended Databases

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your chemistry research and assignments.

  • ABI Inform
    ABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • Business Source Elite
  • ProQuest Science Journals
    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features nearly 1,300 titles—most available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
  • Science Full Text Select
    Subjects Covered: Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Chemistry, Communication & Info Technology, Computers, Construction, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.
  • ScienceDirect Physical Sciences College Edition
    More than 650 current journals in the areas of Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy, Engineering, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy from the leading full-text scientific database.
 

Recommended Books

Algorithms and Theory of Computation - Mikhail J. Atallah; Marina Blanton; Samir Khuller (Contribution by)
Call Number: QA76.9.A43 A432 2009
ISBN: 9781584888222
Publication Date: 2009-11-20

Computer Science: Notable Research and Discoveries - Kyle Kirkland
Call Number: QA76.27 .K58 2010
ISBN: 9780816074419
Publication Date: 2010-05-01

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology - Harry Henderson.
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1438110030
Publication Date: 2009

Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History - Raúl Rojas, editor in chief.
Call Number: Ref QA76.15 .E53 2001
ISBN: 1579582354
Publication Date: 2001

Recommended Websites

  • Ars Technica
    Ars Technica is a trusted source for technology news, tech policy analysis, breakdowns of the latest scientific advancements, gadget reviews, software, hardware, and nearly everything else found in between layers of silicon.
  • Internet Society
    The Internet Society engages in a wide spectrum of Internet issues, including policy, governance, technology, and development to ensure that a healthy, sustainable Internet is available to everyone.
  • Webopedia
    Webopedia is a free online dictionary for words, phrases and abbreviations that are related to computer and Internet technology. Webopedia provides easy-to-understand definitions in plain language, avoiding the use of heavy jargon when possible so that the site is accessible to users with a wide range of computer knowledge.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Christopher Anglim
Contact Info
Building 41, Second Floor
(202) 274-5843
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip