This is the "Home" page of the "Civil Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Engineering   Tags: civil engineering, engineering  

Resources for Civil Engineering.
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/civil_engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

News from iCivilEngineer.com

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

Civil Engineering is a branch of engineering that encompasses the conception, design, construction, and management of residential and commercial buildings and structures, water supply facilities, and transportation systems for goods and people, as well as control of the environment for the maintenance and improvement of the quality of life. Civil engineering includes planning and design professionals in both the public and private sectors, contractors, builders, educators, and researchers. -McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in civil engineering.

You can navigate this guide use the tabs above to help you navigate to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.

Recommended Databases

  • IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
    IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
  • ProQuest Science Journals
    With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features nearly 1,300 titles—most available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature. These journals cover hundreds of topics relating to all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
  • Science Full Text Select
    Subjects Covered: Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Chemistry, Communication & Info Technology, Computers, Construction, Engineering, Energy, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.
  • ScienceDirect Physical Sciences College Edition
    More than 650 current journals in the areas of Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy, Engineering, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy from the leading full-text scientific database.
 

Recommended Books

City Planning for Civil and Environmental Engineers - Kurt W. Bauer
Call Number: HT166 .B3868 2010
ISBN: 9781439808924
Publication Date: 2009-09-22

Civil Engineering: Transportation Engineering Review - Robert W. Stokes; James H. Banks
Call Number: TA1145 .B32 2004
ISBN: 0793195624
Publication Date: 2006-07-22

Principles of Applied Civil Engineering Design - Ying-Kit Choi
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 0784407126
Publication Date: 2004-03-01

Recommended Websites

  • American Society of Civil Engineers
    Founded in 1852, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) represents more than 140,000 members of the civil engineering profession worldwide and is America's oldest national engineering society.
  • Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
    A portal featuring links to general civil engineering websites, specific disciplines, codes and standards and more.
  • Virtual Training Suite- Civil Engineering
    The Virtual Training Suite aims to help university students to develop Internet research skills to assist with their university coursework and assignments.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Faith Rusk
Contact Info
202-274-6116
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip