This is the "Home" page of the "Media and Communications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Media and Communications   Tags: communication, communication technology, journalism, media  

Last Updated: Oct 26, 2016 URL: http://udc.libguides.com/Communications Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We Can Help!

We're here for YOU!

Remember you can always contact us with questions.

Contact us:

Chat

Email: lrdreference@udc.edu

Phone: 202-274-5104

In-Person: Bldg 41, 5th Floor

 

On the Media

On the Media is a weekly show from NPR which examines the influences on and practices of the media in the broadest sense of the word. Each week they seek to address a new and different issue.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

In this guide you will find lists of resources that are both appropriate and relevant to topics in the use of media in communication.

You can navigate this guide use the tabs above to help you navigate to the kinds of resources that you're looking for.

Recommended Databases

This is a just a small list of all the databases available from the library for your media and communications research and assignments.

  • Academic Search Premier
    An excellent basic collection for undergraduate research needs. Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
  • JSTOR
    Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. Includes JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, X.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Recommended Websites

  • The Online Journalism Review
    Knight Digital Media Center at the University of California Berkeley produces this blog about the future of media.
  • The Freedom Forum
    The Freedom Forum, based in Washington, D.C., is a nonpartisan foundation that champions the First Amendment as a cornerstone of democracy. The Freedom Forum is the main funder of the operations of the Newseum in Washington, D.C., the First Amendment Center and the Diversity Institute.

My Profile

Profile Image
Michael Fitzgerald
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Building 41, Room 201G
202-274-6387
Send Email
 

What Do You Think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip